July 8, 2011

          The Special Town Board meeting of the Town of Cooks Valley was called to order on July 8, 2011 at the Cooks Valley town hall located at 15784 40th Street at 8:00 pm by Chairman Darrel Fehr.  Supervisors present were David Clements and John Sykora.  Other town officials present were Victoria Trinko-clerk and Judith Prince-treasurer.  See attached list for delegation present.       
          Public Comment:  There was discussion about provisions to enforce violations of the road haul agreement by truck drivers and a list of violators provided to the town for a record of violators.  There are 3-step interventions for violations when the violating truck driver is properly identified and noted by the mine operator.  There was discussion of the amount of money placed in escrow and maintaining enough money to pay for road repair.  There were questions about water testing, blasting, and water vein diversion.  The engineer will inform the town of the needs in these matters.  There was discussion of the alternate route while the road route is under repair and of the non-metallic mining ordinance in the court system.
Discussion and possible action on road haul route agreement:  Darrel Fehr made a motion to accept the town road upgrade and maintenance agreement presented by Chippewa County and Preferred Sands that was sent to the Town of Cooks Valley on July 8, 2011.  John Sykora seconded the motion.  Roll call vote:  John Sykora-yes Darrel Fehr-yes, David Clements-no [he felt the Town of Cooks Valley had negotiated a better previous agreement with Preferred Sands].  The motion carried 2-1.
Earl Hassemer would like the town board to consider zoning the Town of Cooks Valley for the future agenda.
Adjourn:  John Sykora made a motion to adjourn at 8:26 pm.  David Clements seconded the motion.  The motion carried 3-0.

                                                                   Respectfully submitted
                                                                   Victoria Trinko
                                                                   Town Clerk

Typed:  July 11, 2011
Approved:  July 11, 2011